June 8, 2017

The Honorable Jerry Brown
Governor of California
State Capitol, Suite 1173 Sacramento, CA, 95814

The Honorable Kevin De León Senate President Pro Tempore
California State Senate, Room 205, Sacramento, CA 95814

The Honorable Anthony Rendon 
Assembly Speaker
California State Assembly, Room 219, Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: To Achieve Climate Goals, California Must Urgently Reauthorize Cap-and-Trade

Dear Governor Brown, Senate President Pro Tem De León, and Speaker Rendon,
We the undersigned clean transportation technology companies urge you to reauthorize the state’s Cap- and-Trade Program beyond 2020 as soon as possible. Ongoing uncertainty around the future of the program is hampering investment in the clean vehicle technologies and low carbon fuels markets, which greatly depend on continuation of the program beyond 2020.

If California is going to achieve its long-term climate goals, the state must transform the transportation sector, which is the greatest source of greenhouse gas emissions. Doing so will require meaningful incentives over the next decade combined with a sense of stability for investors, producers, and users of clean vehicle and low carbon fuels technologies who are deploying capital that they will rely on for years and in many cases decades.

California has several programs in place that have supported the deployment of zero- and near-zero- emission light-, medium-, and heavy-duty vehicles and low carbon fuels to date. The growth of these
industries has brought great benefits to the state, which include lower greenhouse gas emissions and criteria pollutants, new economic investments in-state, and the growth of advanced jobs—all the while developing cutting-edge technologies that have made California a beacon of climate leadership.

However, while the clean transportation technology industry is off to a promising start, its success cannot be taken for granted. Growth of the industry significantly depends on state incentive programs that have been funded by Cap-and-Trade—incentives that have been critical to helping young technologies compete on a cost basis against a diesel- and gasoline-dominated market. Because Cap- and-Trade has yet to be reauthorized, there has been a lack of funding to sustain the incentive programs that these markets depends on. As a result, the adoption of clean cars, buses, trucks, and fuels is not growing as fast as it needs to.

We respectfully urge you to come together to reauthorize Cap-and-Trade as soon as possible, as our success, and growth of the zero- and near-zero-emission vehicle and low carbon fuels markets overall, depend on the program’s stable continuation.


Greg Fritz, ACTIA Corporation
Kitty Adams, Adopt a Charger
Lawrence Brennan, Advanced Vehicle Manufacturing
Eric A. McAfee, Aemetis
Bryan Sherbacow, AltAir
John Melo, Amyris
Diana Kotler, Anaheim Transportation Network
Matt Morrissette, Applied LNG
Marty Mitchell, Athens Services
Nicolas Pocard, Ballard Power Systems
Mark Terry, Biorem Energy
Peter Drasher, Black Bear Environmental Assets
Macy Neshati, BYD Motors
Kevin Weiss, Byogy Renewables
Evan Williams, Cambrian Energy
Anne Smart, ChargePoint
Enid Joffe, Clean Fuel Connection
John McKinney, Columbia Biogas, LLC
Ryne Shetterly, Complete Coach Works
Justin Webb, Daylight Transport LLC
Benoit Lacroix, Effenco
Jean-Baptiste Gallo, Efficient Drivetrains, Inc.
Paul Cramer, Eslinger Biodiesel
Jordan Ramer, EV Connect
Jessica Leader, FreeWire Technologies
Ted Kniesche, Fulcrum BioEnergy
Gustavo Occhiuzzo, Green Commuter
Thomas Ashley, Greenlots
Ernie Crespo, Gtrans
Jose Lopez-Gallego, H2B2 USA
Rakesh Koneru, HummingbirdEV
Stephen Jones, ITM Power
Hunter Harvath, Monterey-Salinas Transit
Urvi Nagrani, Motiv Power Systems
Dayne Delahoussaye, Neste
Paul Smith, New Flyer
Dr. John Reed, North American Repower
Rebecca Boudreaux, Ph.D., Oberon Fuels
Joe Dalum, Odyne Systems
Mike Saxton, Orange EV
JP Aguirre, Phoenix Motorcars
Ram Mohan, Planet Hydrogen Inc
Rob Elam, Propel Fuels
Kent Leacock, Proterra, Inc.
Natalie Cookson, Quantitative BioSciences, Inc.
Sean Moen, ReFuel Energy Partners
Craig Frear, Regenis
Richard Oppmann, RePowered NGV
Larry Greene, Sacramento Metropolitan AQMD
Lisa McGhee, San Diego Airport Parking Company
Sharon Cooney, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System
Mike Hart, Sierra Energy
Laura Renger, Southern California Edison
Sanjay Ranchod, Tesla
Dakota Semler, Thor Trucks
James Rhodes, Trestle Energy LLC
Bruce Melgar, UrbanX Renewables Group
Tom Vessels, Vessels Coal Gas
Ron Zirges, Victor Valley Transit Authority
Mario Cifuentez, Visalia Transit
Karen Hamberg, Westport Fuel Systems
Daniel Zito, Workhorse Group Inc.
John Boesel, CALSTART
Richard Battersby, Clean Cities Coalition – East Bay
Timothy Taylor, Clean Cities Coalition – Sacramento
Graham Noyes, Low Carbon Fuels Coalition
Ryan Dillon, RePowered NGV Alliance
Mike Mielke, Silicon Valley Leadership Group

cc: The Honorable Members of the California State Senate 
The Honorable Members of the California State Assembly 
Mary Nichols, Chairman, California Air Resources Board 
California Air Resources Board Members


For more information, contact Ryan Schuchard, CALSTART at 626-744-5606 or